Container Gardening, Winter Gardening

Getting Ready For Winter

Been bit of a busy month for me, keeping out of the wifes way as she prepares the house for Christmas and the influx of friends and relatives. So best place for me, my greenhouse and potting shed! I have spent my time productively, well mostly, found time for a quiet bit of reading, my potting shed is quite comfy. I actually have spent quite a bit of time making sure my greenhouse is ready for the winter especially as they predictions are indicating a worse winter than we have had in a long time with arctic weather brrrr. Thanks to ferratum UK I have now invested in a nice heating system and heated propagator for the greenhouse – early Christmas present for myself.

I have also used the time on the couple of good days we have had to get the garden into shape for winter, given it a good clean up, removed old plants and turned the soil.  Another thing I have been doing is getting ahead with my summer plants and potting up some seeds. I have chosen Antirrhinum or snapdragons as they commonly known because I just love the variety of colours and they cut so nicely (keeps the wife happy) plus they are quite a hardy plant and can be safely put into the cold frame quite early in the season. The other thing I have done is create a couple of containers for the patio, just to add a bit of colour on a cold winters day. If you fancy doing the same you would do well to look at this site for tips and advice.

 

 

garden containers for a bit of winter colour

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

