Gardening Projects

The Christmas Plant

Plum Poinsettia a change from the usual red poinsettia popular as the christmas plant

Plum Poinsettia

Christmas is nearly here and my yearly project is coming to fruition and looking very good. Every year I provide family and friends with the Christmas pot plant poinsettia on the understanding that they are returned to me by end of March.  That is when I cut them down and start the regrowth cycle. Over the years some of my poinsettias have re-bloomed 4 or 5 times.  I love Poinsettias, my father always bought one for my mother every year on Christmas Eve but she certainly did not have green fingers it was normally dead by the middle of January but it is one of my endearing memories of my dad wandering into the home, slightly tipsy carrying a poinsettia. These great plants originate from Mexico, where it was cultivated by the Aztecs who called the plant Cuetlaxochitl, they considered it a symbol of purity. The poinsettia bracts ( coloured leaves) also made the reddish – purple dye.  there are number of colours available now alongside the traditional red. I am waiting to find a Plum poinsettia, for myself.   So if you are lucky enough to have a ponsettia plant this Christmas here are my tips for looking after it.

  • Water poinsettias sparingly as overwatering can damage plants. As a rule of thumb, only water when the surface of the compost has begun to dry out. The flowering life of plants is extended by humidity, so mist plants regularly.
  • Feed monthly with a low nitrogen, high potassium fertiliser.

For those of you who want to try and keep your plant for another year, look in in my blog posts in April or have a look here.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

